UvA homepage UvA homepage
Search results

Master's in Logic

Full-time and part-time - Day-time class

Educational institute
Graduate School of Informatics
Two Years
Instruction language
dr. U. Endriss
Science Park 107
+31 20 5256511
The programme
MSc Logic - Curriculum Logic - Admission to the study programme - Objectives and exit qualifications of the study programme

The programme

MSc Logic

The study programme takes two years (120 EC) and leads to the Master of Science degree in Logic.

The Institute for Logic, Language and Computation (ILLC) of the University of Amsterdam organises the Master of Logic, under responsibility of the Graduate School of Informatics. There are two websites providing you with information about the MSc Logic:

The MSc Logic Administrator at the ILLC is Tanja Kassenaar (tel.: +31(0)20 525 6051; e-mail: T.Kassenaar@uva.nl ).

Programme Director MSc Logic 
dr. Ulle Endriss   U.Endriss@uva.nl 

The Education and Examination Regulations (in Dutch: Onderwijs- en Examenregeling; OER), ratified by the Dean of the faculty, contain the official description of the MSc programmes. The student handbook and the Regulations are the documents by which students are granted their rights and duties. This study guide contains all kinds of information regarding programmes and teaching matters, part of it being derived from the Regulations. Although the study guide has been compiled with great care, no rights can be derived from it. This guide does not contain timetables or the dates for tests. A separate list is available at the Education Service Center.

The MSc Logic trains students in modern logic and its applications in related disciplines, particularly mathematics, computer science, artificial intelligence, linguistics, and philosophy. Increasingly, ?hot topics? such as cognitive science and game theory also play an important role in the programme.

Each student should choose one of the four tracks offered: Logic and Computation (L&C), Logic and Language (L&L), Logic and Mathematics (L&M), and Logic and Philosophy (L&P). Each track is associated with a small number of obligatory courses, ensuring a sound basis in one of the classical disciplines traditionally associated with logic.

The focus of the MSc Logic is on research training. The programme is highly interdisciplinary and has a clear international orientation. Each student receives close individual attention and is personally mentored by a senior member of stafff at the ILLC.

The MSc Logic uses the ECTS, the European Credit Transfer System. A normal course load is 60 credits (EC) per year. This is equivalent to about 40 hours per week (28 hours per EC) and includes lectures, reading, assignments, library work, research projects, and discussions.

In order to obtain the MSc Logic degree, a student needs to pass at total of at least 120 EC, consisting of

  • the core elements: the course Logic, Language and Computation (3 EC), a total of at least 6 EC in research projects, and the course Basic Logic (6 EC) if so advised by the Board of Examiners;
  • the track-specific obligatory courses for at least one of the four tracks (with the number of ECs depending on the track);
  • the Thesis Master of Logic (30 EC);
  • and a sufficient number of elective courses (most of which from the list of MSc Logic courses; up to 20 EC of these courses are free electives, see below).

In addition, students are expected to attend at least 10 research talks before starting work on their thesis. These talks could be talks at a workshop or conference in Amsterdam or a talk in one of the regular meetings of the research seminars at the ILLC, e.g., the Logic Tea, the DIP Colloquium, or the Computational Linguistics Seminar.

Free electives

Students can take up to 20 EC in courses not listed as part of the MSc Logic programme (see below). In general, these courses must be at the Master level. A maximum of 12 EC can be from Bachelor programmes (to alleviate deficiencies), but these courses need the permission of the Board of Examiners.


The academic year is divided into two semesters. Each semester is again divided into three periods of respectively 8, 8 and 4 weeks. At the end of each period there is an exam week, except for the periods of four weeks. The periods within a semester are referred to as "a" (1st period, eight weeks), "b" (2nd period, eight weeks) and "c" (3rd period, four weeks). Some courses are given in more than one period; in that case all letters of the periods concerned are shown. Students can start the study programme in semester 1 (September) or in semester 2 (February).